What does leadership through motivation look like?

I just found this quote that I love:

Leadership is about motivating a group of people’s behavior to achieve a common goal bigger than their own.

Unfortunately, the author is unknown to me even after a Google search (what did we do before Google?).

Personal experience has proven this quote true time and time again. If you want to lead, you have to motivate. That doesn’t always mean being a rah-rah cheerleader type; sometimes it might be as simple as encouraging people to help with the cause you are involved in. Changing behavior is the more difficult part. People have to want to change before they will work to tackle that bigger common goal.

Early in my volunteer days (read: 1993), I didn’t have much clue as to what was going on in the organization I signed up for. But, I knew that I wanted to see some things in society change and I needed to be a part of the solution. I jumped in and listened. I watched and learned. I carefully studied the state chairperson to watch what she did to lead the organization. Her motivation in leading us, caused me to want to address my own behaviors so that I could ultimately be part of the common goal. Not my goal, but the common goal.

As you jump into pursuing your passion, remember to listen, watch, study the leadership and then do something!

passionately,

Laura

Leave a Reply

